whats the difference between vegan and vegetarian?

NetherCraft 0

I always thought they were the same..are they?

8 Answers

  • he word “vegetarian” is a generic blanket term used to describe anybody who does not eat meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This encompasses vegans and also the various vegetarian sub-groups. Vegetarians are generally those people who have chosen a diet with far less restrictions than those chosen by a vegan.

    The differences between the various vegetarian sub-groups may appear to be small, but they are very important to the members who belong to each groups. In many cases the distinctions are important dietary or ethical decisions taken by the individual.

    Here are the various vegetarian sub-groups:

    SEMI-VEGETARIAN

    ===================================

    Semi-vegetarians are people who have chosen to live a lifestyle which is not strictly vegetarian. A semi-vegetarian may be a person who only eats meat occasionally, or perhaps doesn’t eat meat, but eats poultry and fish.

    1) Ovo-Lacto-Vegetarian

    ————————————–…

    Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not eat meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do eat eggs and milk. This is by far the largest group of vegetarians.

    2) Ovo-Vegetarian

    ————————————–…

    Ovo-vegetarians are people who would be classed as vegans if they did not eat eggs.

    3) Lacto-Vegetarian

    ————————————–…

    Lacto-vegetarians are people who would be classed as vegans if they did not consume milk.

    VEGAN

    ======================================…

    This is by far the strictest vegetarian sub-group or category.

    A vegan is a person who has chosen not to consume any animal products or byproducts. Some will even so far as not consuming honey and yeast, and others will not wear any clothing made from animal products. Veganism is a diet and lifestyle that seeks to exclude the use of animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose. Vegans endeavor not to use or consume animal products of any kind. The most common reasons for becoming a vegan are ethical commitment or moral convictions concerning animal rights, the environment, human health, and spiritual or religious concerns. Of particular concern are the practices involved in factory farming and animal testing, and the intensive use of land and other resources required for animal farming. Veganism never stops at eating habit alone, but continuous journey beyond.

  • Difference Between Vegan And Vegetarian

  • The names do sound the same,but there are differences.

    The general vegetarian eats fruits,vegetables,dairy and products made by animals,but are not made at the cost of the animal’s safety.

    A vegan in general terms does not eat dairy or anything made by an animal such as honey. Vegans especially have to pay close attention to their diet so they do not make themselves sick from malnutrition.

  • For the best answers, search on this site https://smarturl.im/aDGEX

    Vegans as opposed to vegetarians will not eat or wear or use any product made from animals. i.e. Milk, eggs, butter, leather are a no no.

  • Vegetarians eat anything that doesn’t involve killing an animal

    Vegans do not eat anything derived from an animal, whether it involved killing or not.

  • Nope the are different.

    vegetarians do not eat anything that was living : beef, cнιcκen, pork, fish, shrimp, clams.., or slaughter house products, rennet, gelatin, caesin

    vegans do not eat: milk, eggs, dairy, all animals, honey, whey, any animal by product. do not wear leather, silk, wool..

    Source(s): vegan
  • vegetarians don’t eat the flesh of animals (INCLUDING fish)

    vegans don’t eat any animal products at all (to varying degrees depending on personal strictness)

    Source(s): vegetarian
  • vegans dont eat eggs or cheese, like meat byproducts. vegitarians dont eat meat, but they eat byproducts

Also Check This  what is the sum of the angle measures of a 36-gon?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *